信息軟件與技術部

勞倫斯公立學校信息系統與技術 (IS&T) 部門通過提供卓越且具有成本效益的產品和服務來支持勞倫斯公立學校的使命,從而在信息管理和分發方面發揮技術領先地位。

IS&T 致力於通過實現以下目標,在安全的環境中提供可靠和高效的計算服務,為學區辦公室、學校教職員工和學生提供服務:

  • 確保學區計算機網絡以可用的最快帶寬順利運行
  • 為學區的所有計算機提供及時的技術支持,以最大限度地減少停機時間
  • 協助學校和其他部門研究和採購可用於課程和教學目的的最佳技術
  • 就學校技術相關問題向學監辦公室提出建議

IS&T 在凱爾特、康卡斯特和威瑞森的幫助下,目前維護和支持從學區數據中心到所有學校的光纖連接的廣域網 (WAN)。 光纖連接將所有學校連接到地區數據中心,以便所有學校都可以通過康卡斯特通過凱爾特提供的 500mbps 連接訪問互聯網。 來自學區數據中心以及學校台式計算機的所有網絡連接都是 100Mbps 以太網,但高中除外,它有 1GigE 到台式機。 我們目前正計劃在學校為筆記本電腦和虛擬化服務器實施無線技術以節省能源。 

我們的大多數教室至少有四台計算機(學生三台,教師一台)連接到學校網絡,並監控對互聯網的訪問。 每個學校實驗室都有 30 台計算機和至少一台打印機。 在學校運行的一些系統範圍的應用程序包括:

  • 更多款式
  • 市政債券
  • 卡內基學習數學
  • 科學學習快進
  • 快速數學
  • 學習村
  • 通過網絡學習柏拉圖
  • PowerSchool
  • 學術READ180閱讀干預
  • 系統44
  • 培生數字學習的沃特福德

IS&T 實施的新電話系統允許所有員工訪問自己的語音信箱,從而確保學校與家長之間以及學校員工之間更好的溝通。 整個網絡基礎設施也已升級到最新技術,以適應學校網絡使用不斷增長的需求。 Tandberg 視頻會議系統即使不是所有學校也最多實施,以便他們可以與 NASA 等地方進行視頻會議或進行虛擬實地考察。

信息系統和技術目錄

信息系統與技術 (IS&T)
職稱 姓名 電話 Email
首席營運官 奧達尼斯·M·埃爾南德斯 (978)975-5900 x25729 此郵件地址受spam bots保護。 您必須啟用JavaScript才能查看。
董事 龍阮 (978)975-5900 x25650 此郵件地址受spam bots保護。 您必須啟用JavaScript才能查看。
幫助台 幫助台 (978)975-5952 x25368 此郵件地址受spam bots保護。 您必須啟用JavaScript才能查看。
助理署長 托尼·勒 (978)975-5952 x25654 此郵件地址受spam bots保護。 您必須啟用JavaScript才能查看。
高級網絡分析師 洛根阿里亞斯 (978)975-5952 x25651 此郵件地址受spam bots保護。 您必須啟用JavaScript才能查看。
IT專家 克里斯蒂安·曼薩諾 (978)975-5952 x25659 此郵件地址受spam bots保護。 您必須啟用JavaScript才能查看。

頂部


幫助台

所有與計算機相關的問題和請求都應直接聯繫計算機幫助台,電話 978-975-5952 或分機。 25368 來自任何 LPS 電話,或 此郵件地址受spam bots保護。 您必須啟用JavaScript才能查看。. 計算機服務台位於圖書館後面的勞倫斯高中校園二樓。

 

讀取技術支持的文本
提交幫助台票

讀取知識庫的文本
查看我們的知識庫

 

頂部


與 IS&T 相關的政策

頂部


目前關於在 K-12 教育中實施基於計算機的技術的大多數研究表明,技術是一種手段,而不是目的; 它是實現教學目標的工具,而不是目標本身。 在當今世界,基於計算機的技術已不再是多餘的,而是任何現代課程的重要組成部分。 在文獻中反復出現作為成功使用技術的關鍵要素的因素包括:

  • 技術最好用作基礎廣泛的改革努力的一個組成部分。
  • 必須對教師進行充分培訓以使用技術。
  • 教師可能需要改變他們對教學和學習的信念。
  • 技術資源必須充足且易於使用。
  • 有效的技術使用需要長期的規劃和支持。
  • 技術應整合到課程和教學框架中。

頂部


Microsoft Outlook 2010中

展望網絡訪問

  • 創建新電子郵件
  • 使用通訊錄
  • 回復電子郵件
  • 轉發郵件
  • 創建文件夾
  • 更改密碼
  • 創建規則
  • 創建簽名
  • 更改主題
  • 創建自動回复
  • 更改預覽窗格

頂部

Information Software and Technology Department

The Lawrence Public Schools Information Systems & Technology (IS&T) Department provides technological leadership in the management and distribution of information by providing excellent and cost-effective products and services to support the mission of Lawrence Public Schools.

IS&T is committed to serving the District office, school faculty, staff and students by providing reliable and efficient computing services in the secure environment by achieving the following goals:

  • Ensuring the smooth operation of the District’s computer network at the fastest bandwidth available
  • Providing prompt technical support to all of District’s computers to minimize downtime
  • Assisting schools and other departments in researching and procuring the best technology available for curriculum and instructional purposes
  • Making recommendations to the Superintendent’s Office for school technology-related issues

IS&T with the help of Celt, Comcast, and Verizon, currently maintains and supports a wide area network (WAN) with fiber connection from the District Data Center to all schools. The fiber connection connects all the schools to the District Data Center so that all schools can access the Internet via a 500mbps connection provided by Comcast through Celt. All of the network connections from the District’s Data Center as well as the schools’ desktop computers are Ethernet 100Mbps with the exception of the high school which has a 1GigE to the desktop. We are currently planning to implement wireless in the schools for laptops and virtualizing servers to save energy. 

Most of our classrooms have at least four computers (three for students and one for the teacher) connected to the school network and have monitored access to the Internet. Every school lab has 30 computers and at least one printer. Some of the system-wide applications running at the schools include:

  • AS400
  • Munis
  • Carnegie Learning Mathematics
  • Fast Forword by Scientific Learning
  • Fastt Math
  • Learning Village
  • Plato Learning via Web
  • PowerSchool
  • Scholastic READ180 Reading Intervention
  • System 44
  • Waterford by Pearson Digital Learning

A new phone system implemented by IS&T allows all staff to access to their own voice mailboxes, which ensures better communication between schools and parents and among school staff. The entire network infrastructure has also been upgraded to the latest technology available to accommodate the increasing demand of the school network usage. A Tandberg video conferencing system is implemented at most if not all schools so that they can video conference with places such as NASA or go on virtual field trips.

Information System & Technology Directory

Information Systems & Technology (IS&T)
Title Name Phone Email
Director, IS&T Long Nguyen (978) 975-5905 x25650 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Help Desk Help Desk (978) 975-5952 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Top


Help Desk

All computer-related issues and requests should be directed to the Computer Help Desk at 978-975-5952, or ext. 25368 from any LPS phone, or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. The Computer Help Desk is located on the second floor at the Lawrence High School Campus behind the library.

 

text that reads tech support
Submit a Help Desk ticket

text that reads knowledge base
Check out our Knowledge Base

 

Top


Policies Related to IS&T

Top


Most current research on the implementation of computer-based technology in K-12 education reports that technology is a means, not an end; it is a tool for achieving instructional goals, not a goal in itself. In today's world, computer-based technology is not a frill, but an important component of any modern curriculum. The factors which repeatedly appear in the literature as crucial elements for successfully using technology include the following:

  • Technology is best used as one component in a broad-based reform effort.
  • Teachers must be adequately trained to use technology.
  • Teachers may need to change their beliefs about teaching and learning.
  • Technological resources must be sufficient and accessible.
  • Effective technology use requires long-term planning and support.
  • Technology should be integrated into the curricular and instructional framework.

Top


Microsoft Outlook 2010

Outlook Web Access

  • Create new email
  • Use address book
  • Reply to email
  • Forward email
  • Create Folders
  • Change Password
  • Create Rules
  • Create Signature
  • Change Themes
  • Create Automatic Replies
  • Change Preview Pane

Top